Lifestyle · Skin and beauty tips

‘Hey Gorgeous’

As some of you guys know I am very obsessed with healthy living, skin care and all things beauty, and so today, I popped in at ‘Hey Gorgeous’, Greenacres, Port Elizabeth to learn more about their new news on the shelves and to ask them a few questions to complete my review.

I had tried a few of their products before which did wonders to my skin and thought it would be a great idea to let you guys in on the secret too, because that’s what girls do, share beauty tips. πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜‰ IMG_3597.jpg_resize

Hey Gorgeous is a homegrown brand that uses natural ingredients, is chemical and preservative free and doesn’t use synthetic fragrances. Their products are formulated by real women for real women and are made with the highest quality organic and natural ingredients.
They basically specialize in facial products, body and hair products that leave your skin radiant and softπŸ’†. They have a whole range of beauty products all with unique, delicious names and flavours! My favourite part of the brand is the freedom of choice and customisation when it comes to ingredients. πŸ’‘

“If you wouldn’t eat it, you shouldn’t put it on your skin”

IMG_20170331_091803-01

Above is the different types of facial cleansers, toners and serums they have at the store. All deliciously named with mouth watering scents. Below are the few products I have tried, why I loved how and the effect they had on my skin:

We’ll start with the Honey, Papaya & Pomegranate Facial Scrub

20150303_194055.jpg

This smells like something you can spread on your bread and eat at a picnic! I’m usually wary of facial scrubs because they can sometimes be harsh. This one has amazing natural ingredients so I wasn’t worried at all. I used it just once a week. The brown sugar does a good job of removing dry skin. You only have to rub it gently over your skin as the sugar is rough enough. Don’t press it on your skin and don’t apply a lot of pressure.

I love how smooth my skin felt after using this. The oils are also quite moisturizing. One scoop of it is enough.

WarningπŸ’‘: This WILL attract ants so keep it in the fridge.

Ingredients: Brown Sugar, Kaolin Powder, Grapeseed Oil, Apricot Kernel, Macadamia and Olive Oils, Papaya Extract, Wild Flower Honey, Pomegranate seeds, Calendula, Lavender Chamomile

Banish & Repair Cleanser For Blemish Free Skin

20150303_194139.jpg

I have tried the oil cleansing method before as I’ve heard a lot about the benefits of it. It unclogs pores and doesn’t leave your skin feeling tight, that for me was enough to give it a try. πŸ‘Œ

β€œBut why use oil to wash your face? πŸ˜•

The answer is simple: oil dissolves oil. Dirt is broken down, pores are cleared, and skin is left glowing and feeling refreshed and rejuvenated! This way of cleansing the face has become extremely popular, and for good reason.” – Washing your face with oil, Hey Gorgeous.
I use this one in the evenings while in the shower. Give your face and neck a gentle massage and then wipe off the oil with a warm cloth. My skin feels mosturised and calm after using this. It doesn’t cause any irritation whatsoever.

Ingredients: Grapeseed, Apricot Kernel, Olive, Macadamia and Rice Bran Oils, Glycerin & Essential Oils
Banish & Repair Serum for Blemish Free Skin

20150228_104334.jpg

Another product in the Banish and Repair range is this serum. I use it in the evenings after cleansing. I think it will take a few weeks to see noticeable results but right now it does a good job of keeping my skin hydrated. It has lovely nourishing ingredients that I hope can minimise the blemishes on my face. Only time will tell.

Ingredients: Jojoba Oil, Grapeseed Oil, Carrot Seed Oil, Apricot Kernel Oil, Baobob Oil, Rosehip Seed Oil,Calendula Oil, Frankincense, Neroli, Neem, Hemp seed oil, Lavender and Chamomile Essential Oils.

Lastly but not least, my absolute favorite,

IMG_20170331_092301-01.jpeg

The stretch mark and cellulite gel.
Like every other girl, I love my body so much but I’m also very conscious of it. Especially the hip area because of cellulite and stretch marks. I had tried all the products that people claimed worked,Β Including the five oils before discovering the magic that ‘Hey Gorgeous’. These gels work wonders, the stretch mark gel mainly focuses on lightening and fading the marks whiles the cellulite gel works on skin firming. You cab literally see the results in 12 weeks of purchase. Because I’m a beauty lover and perfectionist, today I popped it to bag my second order of the goodies with a new addition ‘arm sculpting’ which I am yet to try and review. ☺

IMG_20170331_092053-01

I also managed to squeeze in a Q&A session with the beauty consultant at the store, these are but a few questions I asked:

You use natural ingredients. How long can I keep a product before it goes off?

Generally 12-16 weeks unless otherwise specified. To be on the safe side, we suggest that you keep your products in a cool, dry place. Often, it’s recommended that you store certain things in the fridge, which makes sense, considering our products are basically food. Food for your skin :]
Where do you source your ingredients?

We are passionate about the provenance of our ingredients and this means we support Fair Trade and local suppliers whenever possible. For example, our honey is from a wildflower bee farm, our cold-pressed oils from a local producer. We organically grow most of our own botanicals that are used in many of our products. Our Shea Butter is from Fair Trade co-ops in Nigeria and our coconut oil from Mozambique.
What’s your stance on animal testing?

We are proud to say we are BEAUTY WITHOUT CRUELTY accredited πŸ™‚ Since we only use natural ingredients, it isn’t necessary anyway. We have a load of friends who’ve volunteered to test our products out, and a load of testers, who’ve loved our products, and become friends. Sustainability is also a biggie with us. We won’t use ingredients that are not sustainably sourced or those that impact the environment and the people and animals we share our planet with.
Are all your products vegan friendly?

Yes, absolutely everything, except honey based products. Honey is an amazing natural moisturiser, and while we wish we could be completely vegan friendly, we’d rather compromise on that than resort to chemicals, parabens and SLS based ingredients. However, we have found the perfect local beekeeper, who has the happiest, wild flower bees.
I heard that you can customise a product to suit my skin?

Yes we do. For example, a lot of customers love the Happily Ever After Anti-Ageing Serum, but come month end, they need a bit of Banish & Repair to keep breakouts in check. Instead of purchasing both, we can combine the two for you. This obviously saves you the cost of purchasing a second product, gives you fantastic overall results and our karma is a little better :]

Well, happy skin caring ladies and don’t forget to share with us your skin goals, its definitely not too late! 😘

IMG_20170331_204851.png

 

Leave a Reply

